CHANSONGS

01/01/2015

Francis Cabrel – Je te vois venir (tu pars)

You won’t find it on YouTube but here.

Je te vois venir (tu pars) – 2004 I can see where you’re coming from (you’re leaving)
Déjà qu’elles arrivaient bien tard
Bien tard ces années de bonheur
Bien tard ces coups de poing dans le placard
L’arbre avec la flèche dans le cœur
Je vois bien que tu t’éloignes
Et que t’oses même pas dire
Allez, tu pars, je te vois venir

Voilà déjà la chute
J’ai besoin d’un remontant
Pourtant je suis pas bon dans les côtes
Ce sera mon dernier argument
Mais l’appareil est en place
Le petit oiseau va sortir
Allez, tu pars, je te vois venir

Ça fait même pas champ de bataille
Chacun derrière son éventail
Ça fait même pas comme la fin d’une histoire
Et pourtant je te vois venir, tu pars

Je me vois bien près de la gare
Agiter mon chapeau de paille
Puisque tout est en train de faire
De faire que nos chemins déraillent
Quand je retrouverai ma voix
Dans cet entrelacs de ferraille
Je dirai j’en reviens pas
Que tu t’en ailles

Ça fait même pas champ de bataille
Chacun derrière son éventail
Ça fait même pas comme la fin d’une histoire
Et pourtant je te vois venir, tu pars

Dans ces cas-là tu sais
Les amis n’en font pas des tonnes
T’es au moins sûr d’un truc
C’est que tu peux compter sur personne
Juste une main tendue
Qui désigne un point dans le noir
Non, c’est la lune qui éclaire
L’escalier du plongeoir

Je vais rentrer c’est plus sage
Je vais faire celui qui a rien vu
Baisser le rideau, ranger l’étalage
Et tout ce qui de nous donnait sur la rue
Laisse-moi juste une dernière image
Pour ma petite boutique de souvenirs
Allez, tu pars, je te vois venir

Wasn’t it enough that they came so late
So late those years of happiness
So late those punches in the cupboard
The tree carved with arrow in heart
I can see you’re going away
And can’t even bring yourself to speak
Come now, you’re leaving, I can see where you’re coming from

Already the punch line is here
I need a pick-me-up
Though I’m no good uphill
It’ll be my last argument
But the camera’s ready
Watch the birdie!
Come now, you’re leaving, I can see where you’re coming from

It doesn’t even look like a battleground
Each of us behind a fan
It doesn’t even sound like a story ending
Yet I can see where you’re coming from: you’re leaving

I can see myself close to the railway station
Weaving my straw hat
Since everything is conspiring to make
To make it so that our paths diverge
When I’ll find my voice again
In that tracery of scrap iron
I’ll say I can’t get over
Your going away

It doesn’t even look like a battleground
Each of us behind a fan
It doesn’t even sound like a story ending
Yet I can see where you’re coming from: you’re leaving

In cases like these, you know
Friends don’t exert themselves
There’s at least one thing you can count on
It’s that you can’t rely on anyone
Only on a stretched-out hand
Pointing to a dot in the dark
No, it’s the moon lighting up
The steps to the springboard

I’ll go back now, it’s wiser
I’ll just pretend I saw nothing
Pull down the curtain, put away the display
And all that which in us faced the street
Let me keep just one last picture
For my little souvenir shop
Come now, you’re leaving, I can see where you’re coming from

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

