CHANSONGS

04/01/2015

Leonard Cohen – Light as the breeze

Filed under: English songs,Leonard Cohen — marcel barang @ 2:53 pm
Tags: , , ,

Cela s’écoute sur YouTube.

Light as the breeze – 1994
=
Légère comme la brise
=
She stands before you naked
You can see it, you can taste it
and she comes to you light as the breeze
Now you can drink it or you can nurse it
It don’t matter how you worship
as long as you’re down on your knees
=
So I knelt there at the delta
at the alpha and the omega
at the cradle of the river and the seas
And like a blessing come from heaven
for something like a second
I was healed and my heart was at ease
=
O baby I waited so long for your kiss
for something to happen, oh something like this
=
And you’re weak and you’re harmless
and you’re sleeping in your harness
and the wind going wild in the trees
and it ain’t exactly prison
but you’ll never be forgiven
for whatever you’ve done with the keys
=
O baby I waited so long for your kiss
for something to happen, oh something like this
=
It’s dark now and it’s snowing
O my love I must be going
The river has started to freeze
And I’m sick of pretending
I’m broken from bending
I’ve lived too long on my knees
=
Then she dances so graceful
and your heart’s hard and hateful
and she’s naked but that’s just a tease
And you turn in disgust
from your hatred and from your love
and she comes to you light as the breeze
=
O baby I waited so long for your kiss
for something to happen, oh something like this
=
There’s blood on every bracelet
you can see it, you can taste it
and it’s Please baby, please baby please.
And she says, Drink deeply, pilgrim
but don’t forget there’s still a woman
beneath this resplendent chemise
=
So I knelt there at the delta
at the alpha and the omega
I knelt there like one who believes
And the blessings come from heaven
and for something like a second
I’m cured and my heart is at ease
=
Elle se tient nue devant toi
Tu peux voir, tu peux goûter
Et elle vient vers toi légère comme la brise
Maintenant tu peux téter ou tu peux tâter
Peu importe ta façon d’adorer
Aussi longtemps que tu es à genoux
=
Aussi me suis-je agenouillé au delta
À l’alpha et à l’oméga
Au berceau de la rivière et des mers
Et comme une bénédiction venue du ciel
L’espace peut-être d’une seconde
j’ai été guéri et j’étais en paix
=
Ô chérie, j’ai attendu si longtemps ton baiser
Que quelque chose se passe, oh, quelque chose comme ça
=
Et tu es faible et inoffensif
Et tu dors dans ton harnais
Et le vent se déchaîne dans les arbres
Et c’est pas vraiment la prison
Mais tu n’auras jamais de pardon
Pour ce que tu as fait des clefs
=
Ô chérie, j’ai attendu si longtemps ton baiser
Que quelque chose se passe, oh, quelque chose comme ça
=
Il fait sombre et la neige tombe
Ô  mon amour, je dois m’en aller
La rivière commence à geler
Et j’en ai marre de faire semblant
J’en peux plus de vivre courbé
J’ai vécu trop longtemps à genoux
=
Alors elle danse, si gracieuse
Et ton cœur est dur et haineux
Et elle est nue mais c’est juste pour t’allumer
Et tu te tournes dégoûté
par ta haine et par ton amour
et elle vient vers toi légère comme la brise
=
Ô chérie, j’ai attendu si longtemps ton baiser
Que quelque chose se passe, oh, quelque chose comme ça
=
Il y a du sang sur tous les bracelets
Tu peux le voir, tu peux le goûter
Et c’est : S’il te plaît petite, s’il te plaît petite, s’il te plaît
Et elle dit, Étanche ta soif, gitan*
mais n’oublie pas qu’il y a une femme
sous cette resplendissante chemise
=
Aussi me suis-je mis à genoux au delta
À l’alpha et à l’oméga
À genoux comme quelqu’un qui croit
Et comme une bénédiction du ciel
L’espace d’une seconde
je suis guéri et je suis en paix
=
* Mot à mot : Bois à satiété, pèlerin.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

